Blog Tour: I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick // Review + Favorite Quotes + Playlist

TOUR BANNER (5)

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

50202540

 Amazon|| Book Depository|| Barnes & Noble || Apple Books

Kobo || Google Books|| Goodreads

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Book Details

Title: I Killed Zoe Spanos
Author: Kit Frick
Publisher: McElderry Books
Release Date: June 30, 2020

Pre-Order Campaign : https://kitfrick.com/preorder/

lh9xj7cg.jpeg

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Book Blurb

“The YA thriller of the summer.” —Bustle

For fans of Sadie and Serial, this gripping thriller follows two teens whose lives become inextricably linked when one confesses to murder and the other becomes determined to uncover the real truth no matter the cost.

What happened to Zoe won’t stay buried…

When Anna Cicconi arrives to the small Hamptons village of Herron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna bears an eerie resemblance to Zoe, and her mere presence in town stirs up still-raw feelings about the unsolved case. As Anna delves deeper into the mystery, stepping further and further into Zoe’s life, she becomes increasingly convinced that she and Zoe are connected—and that she knows what happened to her.

Two months later, Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But Anna’s confession is riddled with holes, and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, isn’t satisfied. Did Anna really kill Zoe? And if not, can Martina’s podcast uncover the truth?

Inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, Kit Frick weaves a thrilling story of psychological suspense that twists and turns until the final page.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

About the Author

Website || Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || Goodreads

Kit FrickKit Frick is a novelist, poet, and MacDowell Colony fellow from Pittsburgh, PA. She studied creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College and received her MFA from Syracuse University. When she isn’t putting complicated characters in impossible situations, Kit edits poetry and literary fiction for a small press and edits for private clients. She is the author of the young adult novels See All the Stars and All Eyes on Us, both from Simon & Schuster / Margaret K. McElderry Books, as well as the poetry collection A Small Rising Up in the Lungs from New American Press. Her third YA thriller, I Killed Zoe Spanos, will release on June 2, 2020.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Review

Much thanks to The Fantastic Flying Book Club and McElderry Books for sending me a copy for review and for inviting me to be a part of this tour. This review is voluntary and opinions are fully my own. Also, all quotes are taken from the ARC and may or may not appear in the final published copy.

📚 Series? No.
📚 Genre? YA Mystery Thriller
📚 POV? Third person
📚 Cliffhanger? No.

⚠ Content Warnings:  Juvenile detention. Death. Drinking alcohol. Using drugs.
⚠ Book Tags :  Missing person. Summer. Podcasts.

The book is about:
I Killed Zoe Spanos tells the story of  Anna and her confession that she killed Zoe Spanos. The story began with her trip to the Hamptons one summer, to serve as a nanny there. Surprisingly, many people thought of her as Zoe because they are said to resemble each other. But Zoe is missing… Fast forward to two months after, Anna believes she is the reason why Zoe is dead.

What drew me in:
If you have been here a while, you probably know that I am a huge fan of YA thrillers. So when an invite to join the blog tour came, I grabbed the opportunity right away. A mysterious disappearance and an unreliable narrator is more than enough for me to go crazy about the chance to read this!

Characters & connections:

I have to admit, I was very confused about the beginning. I go back and forth about the characters and I kept going back to the earlier pages just to make sure that I’m at the right spot. However, as the story progressed, its cast of characters offers an amazing and thrilling experience, perfect for people who love whodunnits.

Everything I liked:
When you pick up a mystery book, you would want the author to keep you guessing and at your toes. I Killed Zoe Spanos will give you just that. It gave my brain a chance to exercise its detective skills – and I have to admit I had a slight guess about the ending but I didn’t know that the author will go that way. It was truly a fun experience.

Overall thoughts:
Kit Frick was a new-to-me author and this book was a great one to sample her prowess. I Killed Zoe Spanos is the perfect read for fans of Sadie (missing girls & podcasts) and now that I know that this book will have a full cast audio, I will surely make it a point to listen to it as soon as it is out! If you are looking for a good time with a YA thriller, this read will not disappoint.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

My Book Rating Breakdown

🌼 Blurb:⭐⭐⭐⭐☆
🌼 Main Character:⭐⭐⭐⭐☆
🌼 Support Characters:⭐⭐⭐⭐☆
🌼 Writing Style:⭐⭐⭐⭐☆
🌼 Character Development:⭐⭐⭐⭐☆
🌼 Thrill: ⭐⭐⭐⭐☆
🌼 Pacing: ⭐⭐⭐⭐☆
🌼 Ending: ⭐⭐⭐☆☆
🌼 Unputdownability: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
🌼 Book Cover:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

☁ FINAL VERDICT: 4/5 ☁

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Favorite Quotes

When I’m with her, I’m this girl. The girl who lets herself get dragged to parties she didn’t even want to go to, who lets herself get sunburned, who gets towed down into spats over boys who aren’t even close to worth it. I feel petty and skin-crawly and pissed at Kaylee and pissed at myself for becoming this girl all over again.

🌼

Today is Tuesday, February eleventh, and Zoe Spanos has been missing for six weeks to the day. Last Friday, the Herron Mills Village PD declared Zoe a runaway, and that’s why I’m here, talking to you. Because if you know Zoe, you know she didn’t run away. Zoe Spanos is missing. And we’re missing Zoe.”

🌼

Maybe it was only grief, after all, bubbling to the surface in all its ugly trappings—grief like a gaping wound for a daughter who is gone and likely not coming home again.
🌼

“But there are some secrets—my secrets—that Windermere will hold forever, trapped beneath the ash like spilled blood.

🌼

“It was an accident, but… I killed Zoe Spanos.”

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Playlist

 

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Giveaway (US ONLY)

Prize: Win a copy of I KILLED ZOE SPANOS by Kit Frick (US Only)

Starts: 24th June 2020 ~ Ends: 8th July 2020

contest | SeaWorld Mommy

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

yna

Yna the Mood Reader

📚 Goodreads ♡ Bookstagram ♡ Facebook ♡ Twitter 📚

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick // Review + Favorite Quotes + Playlist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s