Blog Tour: Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen // Book Review + Favorite Quotes + Giveaway

Much thanks to Harper Teen  and The Fantastic Flying Book Club Book Tours for sending me a copy for review and for inviting me to be a part of this tour. This review is voluntary and opinions are fully my own. Also, all quotes are taken from the ARC and may or may not appear in the final published copy.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Loveboat-Taipei_Cover-11.gif

 Amazon|| Book Depository|| Barnes & Noble || Apple Books

Kobo || Google Books|| Goodreads

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Book Details

Title: Loveboat, Taipei

Author: Abigail Hing Wen

Date Published: January 7, 2020

Number of Pages: 432 pages

Publisher: Harper Teen

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

📚 Series:  Yes? Goodreads says so.
📚 Genre: YA Contemporary
📚 POV:  First
📚 Cliffhanger: No

⚠ Content Warnings:  Love square/quadrangle. Asian stereotyping. Racism. Graphic description of injuries. Leaked nude photos. Mentions of depression & self-harm. Sexual content.

⚠ Read if: you love Crazy Rich Asians and/or American Panda.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Book Blurb

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land…

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

About the Author

Website ||Twitter|| Goodreads || Instagram 

Image result for abigail hing wen

Abigail was born in West Virginia to a family of immigrants: Her mother is from the Philippines and her father from Indonesia, and her grandparents emigrated to those countries from Fujian and Shandong provinces in China.

Abigail grew up in Ohio and graduated from Harvard University and Columbia Law School. She worked in Washington DC for the Senate, as a law clerk for a federal judge. and now in Silicon Valley in venture capital and artificial intelligence. She also earned her Master of Fine Arts in Writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts.

In her spare time, she enjoys long walks with her husband and two boys, and hanging out with friends and over 100 family members in the Bay Area. She loves music and dances to it when no one is watching.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

My Favorite Quotes

“Maybe some people are meant to be a part of your life. And we don’t have any control over when they drop in. Or over anything else that’s going to happen that might take them away again.”

♡♡♡

“Remember how I said the timing makes no sense? But you’re here. Like you’d finally shown up and I didn’t realize I was looking for you.”

♡♡♡

“I took advantage of a crush and fanned it into a flame.”

♡♡♡

“My parents sent me to discover my heritage, but in the process, I’m also finding parts of myself, even if that self isn’t who they want me to be.”

♡♡♡

“I saw them, and I thought, maybe when you get that old, that’s when you find peace. Maybe the secret’s just living a fucking long time with the right people.”

♡♡♡

“Nice girls aren’t bossy.” […] “Nice is so overrated.”

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Review

Let me start this review by saying, I absolutely loved this book and I am wishing for more Asian rep in the YA & NA umbrella genres.

Loveboat Taipei tells the story of the Taiwanese-Western young adult journey. It’s of finding oneself and identifying how both of your cultures had the power to make you who you are.

The books tells the story of Ever Wong, who was sent by her parents to take part in Loveboat, a culture immersion program in Taiwan, because they felt she needs to learn more about that other side of her.

Ever is joined by around 500 other teens in this experience. So, she attempts to face this new world, while struggling to let her parents know that she does not want to go to med school, but she wants tondance instead.

This book showcased the Asian Tiger Mom character, where Asian parents try to control the decisions of their children, especially with their careers and love interests. I resonate with this one a lot, as many Filipino parents also have the same principles.

I also enjoyed the glimpses of Taiwanese culture showcased in the story, including food, art, language, and places to visit.

One of the great parts that I liked about this read is how Ever transformed and grew as a person. Eventhough technically, she is disobeying her parents, I loved how the author wrote her thought process and how her love for her family has shown, even when she was trying to stand up for who she really is.

In terms of the romance arc, this book did not only came with a love triangle, they also involved another person in the mix!

Focusing on the love interests part, though, I have to say that I disagree with Ever’s choice. It makes me so crazy that she did not choose this character, of whom I felt she had better chemistry with! Sigh.

This frustrating romance part was redeemed by how amazingly the author dealt with serious topics scattered throughout this book. I appreciate the sensitive approach the author have made and I wish she delves more on these topics in the future.

In totality, I have to say I am so happy to have found my first 5 star read of 2020! Loveboat, Taipei is a wonderful debut that showcases family, friendship, finding oneself, fun, and first love.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

My Book Rating Breakdown

🌼 Blurb:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
🌼 Main Character:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
🌼 Significant Other: ⭐⭐⭐⭐☆
🌼 Support Characters:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
🌼 Writing Style:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
🌼 Character Development:⭐⭐⭐⭐☆
🌼 Romance: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
🌼 Pacing: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
🌼 Ending: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
🌼 Unputdownability: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
🌼 Book Cover:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

☁ FINAL VERDICT: 4.81/5 ☁

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

🌼🌼 GIVEAWAY 🌼🌼

Get a chance to win a finished copy of Loveboat, Taipei! Open for US Residents only. No PO Boxes allowed. 2 Winners! Giveaway ends January 15th.

Click below to enter!

Related image

 

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Check out all the other posts! 🙂

January 1st

January 2nd

Read.Sleep.Repeat. – Review + Favourite Quotes
Write, Read, Repeat – Promotional Post

January 3rd

Bookishaestha – Review + Favourite Quotes
Jinxed Reviews – Review + Playlist
Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Heart’s Content – Review + Favourite Quotes

January 4th

Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Layaway Dragon – Review + Favourite Quotes
Cluttered Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Yna the Mood Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
My Bookish Escapades – Promotional Post

January 5th

Novelishly – Review
String of Pages – Review + Favourite Quotes
Playita reads – Review
Kait Plus Books – Promotional Post

January 6th

The Mind of a Book Dragon – Review + Playlist
Books and Blends – Review
Utopia State of Mind – Promotional Post

January 7th

Magical Reads – Playlist
Reads and Thoughts – Review + Favourite Quotes
biblioxytocin – Review + Playlist
Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

yna

📚 Goodreads♡ Bookstagram ♡ Facebook ♡ Twitter 📚

8 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen // Book Review + Favorite Quotes + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s