Wishlist Wednesday #7: project runway meets mulan

Hey, (mood) readers!

Wishlist Wednesday is where I talk about a book that I have not yet read and want to add to my book collection. It doesn’t matter if it had been published before or a future release. All that matters is that I want to read it.

By the way, my actual Book Depository Wishlist can be seen here , and my Amazon Wishlist can be seen here.

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links, meaning I will earn a small commission, at no additional cost to you, when you click on a link and make a purchase.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

For this Wednesday, 13th of November, my book pick is:

Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

42815556

Amazon|| Book Depository

^^^ FYI: These are affiliate links. No pressure.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Click to Read About The Book Blurb

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Why Do I Want to Read This?

Just that pitch of Project Runway meets Mulan and I am sold. This sounds very interesting and the blurb seems to show loads of adventure awaiting. I have not read a lot of reviews about this but I am really hoping for a five-star read.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Have you read this book?

Tell me your recommendations in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday #7: project runway meets mulan

      1. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 The paperback and the kindle edition are the same rate here the last time I checked. It wasn’t too high, nor was it exactly on the lower end either. So I decided I’d wait some more.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s