First Lines Friday #6 : a cozy read perfect for halloween

Hey, (mood) readers!

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

For October 25th, my entry is this:

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

“Once upon a time, there was a very well-meaning witch who may have accidentally brought about the end of the world.”

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Can you guess where these lines came from?

watercolor-arrow-red-14.png

47962827. sy475

Amazon || Goodreads

This post contains affiliate links, which means I may earn a small commission, at no additional cost to you, when you click on a link & make a purchase.

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

Book Blurb

Perfect for fans of Hocus Pocus, Halloweentown, and Good Omens, this Halloween romance is certain to put you under its spell….

Leyton is pretty much your normal town. And I’m pretty much your normal twenty-something. Except that Leyton is populated by magical beings and I’m a witch.

Every year, for the month of October, Leyton opens its doors to the mortal world. They bring their money, their hokey human charm, and…they bring Him.

Elijah Thorne.

Elijah Thorne is a proper thorn in my side. And a witch-hunter who, for some reason, is obsessed with the idea of hunting me. For years, we’ve been playing this game of cat and mouse and for years, I’ve managed to evade him. But this year…

Well, this year I accidentally knitted all of my anxieties into these enchanted scarves I was selling on Etsy, one of them got back to an all-powerful Ancient in the Fairy Dimension, and, as punishment, she’s going to bring about the end of the world on Halloween night.

So, the witch hunter and I have to team up with the rest of the town to stop her Which would be easy if I could just, you know, stop falling in love with Eli long enough to finish the job.
 

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

See you next week for another First Lines Fridays!

yna

📚 Goodreads♡ Bookstagram ♡ Facebook ♡ Twitter 📚

Copy of Budding Trio - Canva Banner (2)

P.S. Visit the meme host and join the fun!

First Lines Fridays

 

2 thoughts on “First Lines Friday #6 : a cozy read perfect for halloween

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s